By Collin County Criminal Lawyer Jeremy Rosenthal
Theft looks rough on a background check whether it was for less than $50 or for more than $200,000.
Theft cases are hard to fight too and statistics back that up. Retail stores today are equipped not only with surveillance cameras but also with extremely aggressive loss prevention officers who routinely suspect innocent people of being criminals.
But it’s not hopeless getting a theft arrest off your record in Collin County if you take the right steps early. There are two main avenues other than trial which could result in an expunction of a theft arrest.
The first is through the Collin County pre-trial diversion program which is an informal probation by invitation only where the prosecution agrees to dismiss charges and even agrees to an expunction. An attorney can help make the case to the prosecutor that their client is worthy of invitation and final acceptance into the program — and also evaluate the pros and cons of entering the pre-trial diversion program.
A second way to get a record expunged is by plea bargaining for the prosecutor to agree to reduce the charges to a Class C misdemeanor (usually from a Class B or A misdemeanor) and give deferred adjudication. This has the legal effect of allowing eligibility for expunction after two years from the date of the arrest if the deferred is successfully completed.
While the statistics and the prognosis can be very daunting when facing a theft charge in Collin County, you should remain hopeful of seeing your way through the problem with patience, diligence and advocacy.
*Jeremy Rosenthal is Board Certified in Criminal Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization and licensed by the Supreme Court of Texas. Nothing in this article should be considered legal advice. For legal advice for any issue you should speak directly with an attorney.